various second life related diaries procedurally generated by my brain.

SL As Transcendance, However you spell it | 05/04/04

A virtual world is the glue between "inner self" and "outer self" in those of us who are connected to devices with wires and plugs. A virtual world allows us to live a life, or attain a physical body that is not possible to have. It is the most tangible form of the inner self, arguably. - Daydreaming is still within the mind, art can not be you. By walking around as a projected you, you can truly be that.

It is no surprise wearing another profile or putting on another avatar transforms your behavior, makes you feel different. You dissociate. You speak online more than you do in real life, but what is "real" life? What makes a truer self projected as a 3d model truer than a flesh-self, an online conversation and wronging being meaningless drivel that has no bearing on the "real" world; compared to face-to-face interaction- which- no matter how shallow - is completely real and of more value than anything that could be communicated behind a screen.

What if you could project yourself completely, digitally? This is what SecondLife is t0 me. it is a digital link between what i cannot be and what i am.

Self-Transcendance in this way, I believe, is a form of transness - In the sense of the physical self to the digital realm. SecondLife, much like the tight knight mutual circles and small groups of people provide safety for the already isolated- allows a second life for others to live peacefully as themselves. Escapism? Maybe. a Place to interact with yourself in a different way? Maybe.

Secondlife is not, like, the best and only 3d expression platform. I've never played or messed with them but I'm well aware of VRchat and G-Mod, but i feel as if... the 'Lifelike' nature of SL contributes to this. people are kind to me as people are. I see these people less as players and more as people sharing my enviornment. even if in one of my lives i am isolated, I still can live peacefully alone as my self through second life, from alters or tulpas or whatever controls my body and connects myself to the screen. Dissociation is a common SL experience. I am not surprised at all that SL is home to the isolated, the body-incongruent, the fragmented. My thoughts on the spiritual aspects of SecondLife.

☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺ ☺

SMILE ON